We don’t want voters to decide. Unless we want them to decide.

One of the things that makes life interesting for reporters is the inconsistencies of the public mind.

Two of the candidates who want to replace Congressman Todd Akin in the United States House say they would support limiting members of the House to three two-year terms and forbidding anyone from serving in the United States Senate for more than twelve years–two six-year terms.

The pledge comes from Ann Wagner and Ed Martin.

They want to replace Akin, whose voters have elected him to SIX two-year terms. Akin hopes to limit Claire McCaskill to one term in the U. S. Senate in November, 2012.

If the term limits endorsed by Wagner and Martin had been in effect when Akin was first elected to the U. S. House in 2000, the people of the Second Congressional District would have been deprived of the right to send him back to Washington in the last three elections. And Missourians would not have had the chance to send the recently retired Senator Christopher Bond to Washington for half of the time he served them.

And should Wagner or Martin win Akins’ seat, voters would be deprived of their right to return that person as their representative for as many terms as Akin has served—if the voters want to send them back. Perhaps they should clarify their positions: Would they limit THEMSELVES to only three two-year terms?

While Wagner and Martin don’t want voters to decide whether to re-elect someone they trust, another group that wants to get rid of the state income tax calls itself “Let Voters Decide.”

Remind us to ask Wagner and Martin if they support that organization next time we talk to them.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “We don’t want voters to decide. Unless we want them to decide.

  1. I did see one news story which said Martin would limit himself to three (or was it four?) two year terms.

    Bob, it doesn’t seem fair for you to imply Wagnor and Martin are being inconsistent unless they are on record as refusing self-imposed term limits.

Comments are closed.